F7d236e2 Eaff 4223 B236 88657723A202

The Scottish Sports Awards 2023

Celebrating the best of Scottish sport

The Scottish Sports Awards 2023, hosted by sportscotland and Team Scotland, took place on Thursday 7 December, when the success of individuals, schools, clubs, and teams across the whole of Scottish sport were honoured.

Over the course of the last year, Scottish athletes have delivered tremendous success on the world stage, while at home we have seen the huge impact on local communities where schools, clubs, community projects and people are making a difference in sport across Scotland.  

Selecting the winners was an exceptionally difficult task this year with historic performances from athletes like Beth Potter, Josh Kerr and Team Scotland’s Trinbago 2023 Rugby 7s, and life-changing work in local communities working hard to make sport and physical activity truly inclusive through winners like Active Life Club in Glasgow and Oaklands School in Edinburgh. 

The event also welcomed the latest inductees into the Scottish Sports Hall of Fame. Legendary footballer Julie Fleeting became the 100th inductee. Julie won 18 major honours in her career, including 17 in nine years as a key part of an all-conquering Arsenal team. She is Scotland's record goalscorer and captained her country for eight years. 

Ronald Ross, considered by many to be the greatest shinty player of all time, was also inducted. Ronald is the only player to score more than 1000 goals, his performances for a dominant Kingussie team put him in a category of his own. Find out more about the 101 Scottish Sports Hall of Fame inductees.

Chair of sportscotland, Mel Young, said: “A huge congratulations to all the winners at this year’s Scottish Sport Awards. It has been a real celebration of the whole sporting system and recognition of the talent, hard work and dedication it takes to have an impact at every level.  

“Every year the Scottish Sports Awards provide us with a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the power of sport and its ability to bring the nation together as Scotland’s athletes perform on the world stage, and to support the communities working so hard to reduce inequalities. Every winner at this year’s awards is truly deserving of recognition and celebration and I hope their achievements will inspire more people to embrace sport for life.” 

Chair of Commonwealth Games Scotland, Ian Reid, said: “The breadth and depth of winners being celebrated at these awards was phenomenal. This has been an exceptional year for Scottish sport right across the board, and this was the perfect way to recognise the achievements of everyone who has played a part, from claiming world titles to encouraging young people to reach their full potential in sport.  

“It was a night of inspiration and celebration and every one of the winners was hugely deserving of their award.” 

The full list of Scottish Sport Awards 2023 winners:  

School Sport Award  

Oaklands School

Community Hero Award 

Billy Roberton 

Coach of the Year 

Steve Doig (Athletics) 

Club Sport Award 

Active Life Club 

Female Athlete of the Year 

Katie Archibald MBE (Cycling) 

Male Athlete of the Year 

Josh Kerr (Athletics) 

Para Athlete of the Year

Stephen Clegg (Swimming) 

Young Athlete of the Year 

Matthew Ward (Swimming) 

Team of the Year 

Team Scotland Trinbago 2023 Rugby 7s (Rugby) 

Scottish Governing Body Award 

Scottish Cycling 

Sustainability in Scottish Sport Award 

Aberfeldy Middle Distance Triathlon 

Hall of Fame 

Julie Fleeting MBE and Ronald Ross MBE 

Sportsperson of the Year  

Josh Kerr (Athletics)  


Share links

Related Articles

SY Sporting Equals Leaderboard Academy Sportscotland102 Resize

Changing the Face of Scottish Sport

sportscotland and Sporting Equals Deliver First Scottish Leaderboard 

Read More
News Update

Welcome on Board

sportscotland appoints new board members Ronan Welch, Raza Sadiq and Olivia Strong

Read More

Disability Coach of the Year 2023

A dedicated and inspirational Glasgow based badminton coach was honoured at the 2023 sportscotland COV Awards. 

Read More